MOAR Prims! 41,802 prims in IBM OpenSim Shengri La Spirit

Sunset over IBM OpenSim Shengri La Spirit

I got a little excited about planting the island on the southeast corner of Spirit, and before you know it, I ended up with 41,802 prims.  I honestly meant to have more self control.  But, it didn’t work out that way.

Ooo!

Spirit was a trooper and performed valiently, although I did notice that she was a little laggy towards the end, and didn’t really want to have anything to do with terraforming, especially not the smooth tool.

41,802…nice number.

Dumping stuff out of inventory wasn’t a problem, other than the one about how a prim or an object gets buried up to its center point in the ground.  It’s not as bad as when your legs are suddenly bent at odd angles because of the terrain physics. 

I would love to see a better basic set of animations for the basic avatar. I really do miss my AO, but at least if the basic walk animation didn’t so closely resemble the stride of a chicken, it mightn’t be so bad. 

Showing the small island

I was told that attachment points are now persistent.  I guess we’ll see.  If they truly are, then I’ll likely slack on dumping in content to Spirit and start focusing on, well, hair.  And shoes.  Shoes and hair.  And jewelry.  And maybe a nice matching handbag.  It would be nice if the attachments themselves were persistent but I guess little steps for tiny feet.

Meditation spot on IBM OpenSim Shengri La Spirit

Teravus, I totally forgot to get the sim stats until long after I had logged for the day. Sorry about that,  I’ll try to remember tomorrow when I go in to build.

Mushrooms and grass

Today was a pretty good build though, overall. I finished off the corner of the sim, and started looking at the northeast corner. I have a plan in mind for a relatively complicated gazebo and some plantings.  We’ll see how it goes.

Final count for today’s efforts: 41,802 prims.

 

 

3 thoughts on “MOAR Prims! 41,802 prims in IBM OpenSim Shengri La Spirit

  1. Pingback: physics animations

  2. Pingback: Linden Lab had better watch out « Second Arts

Comments are closed.