Maintaining Immersion in OpenSim

The view from within OpenSim
The view from within OpenSim

We’ve had a series of questions about the Message Bridge, some of which suggest perhaps we aren’t ‘actually’ communicating from within OpenSim to Second Life. 

Here’s the proof from one of my business collaborators who agreed to let her conversation be snapped.  Ahuva looks great in her Second Life.  I am pretty clearly in my OpenSim. 

Ahuva looks great in Second Life.

Ahuva looks great in Second Life.

From the user’s viewpoint, this is very simple and elegant to use.  One chatted command, and you are connected to anyone you have allowed on your Second Life friend’s list.  In OpenSim, you do get to see what grid your colleague is logged into so it is obvious to you that you are communicating into a different world.  This is less obvious in Second Life, since your colleagues are messaging your Second Life account and there is nothing in their interface to indicate that you aren’t actually in world.  I use my Second Life alt rather than my main account to chat with on the Second Life grid for several reasons.  My alt has a small friend’s list, so my communications are necessarily limited to people on the critical communication list.  This has a nice advantage of protecting my time from casual chat.

We have contributed this to the OpenSim community, along with the standard warranty.  We hope you find it useful.

