Emerging Designers Wollemia Sands and Yoona Mayo

The Fashion Research Institiute is pleased to announce the invitation of Wollemia Sands and Yoona Mayo into the Emerging Avatar Apparel Designer Program on Shengri La. 

bbDesigner Profile: Wollemia Sands. invited into the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace on November 10, 2008

I rezzed into SL on July 21, 2007.   The name of my fashion line is Bull & Bear and consists of apparel that is targeted to the businesswoman who is seeking finely tailored career wear.  My vision for Bull & Bear is to continually expand the line and evolve it alongside the transformations of virtual worlds.  I find Second Life to be incredibly inspiring but I am particularly inspired by the freedom to create and to own the IP (intellectual property) in Second Life.  In real life, I love creating designs and artwork which are inspired by nature and great artists. I learned fashion design when I was younger and had worked in garment manufacturing. Then I studied IT and humanities subjects in University and worked in IT. After that,  I had the pleasure of learning pottery and make things in clay.  My current studies and work  as a Master of Fine Art candidate have inspired me to make artwork and fashion in 3D virtual worlds!   I hope that my Bull & Bear creations enhance experiences of cross realities in virtual worlds and also can become functional physical world productions.  And I am very excited by and very happy for the opportunity to have my creations included in the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for six months!

bb1

 

cocconDesigner Profile: Yoona Mayo, invited into the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace December 12, 2008

Thank you very much for inviting me to the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace.  This is a wonderful opportunity for me.  I rezzed in SL on July 14, 2007.   My jewelry line is called Cocoon.  SL is the world where the thing that I want to make can be made. I can make imaginary shapes in SL, although there is a little restriction. I want to design a unique, beautiful shape and make accessories that actually exist.  I want to be always original…I am bearing it in mind although it is the most difficult to do, an original design.  I think that it is important to add individuality from the hint to the design because the hint  is received from various information.  I am delighted when my friend is pleased when accessories are presented.  Friend’s impression and opinion of accessories become hints of the following work.  The hint is very important for me.  My enjoyment in SL  is to make accessories. Prim’s transformation is difficult, and it is difficult to reflect my idea in accessories when there is upper limit of the number of Prim.  However, I get excited very much when my image was able to be reflected in  accessories under such situations.  Another enjoyment is a conversation with my friends. I often obtain  ideas and hints of the following work from the conversation with my friends.

jewels-copy

One thought on “Emerging Designers Wollemia Sands and Yoona Mayo

  1. Pingback: Cocoon Jewelry… « Michele Hyacinth’s Weblog

Comments are closed.