Welcoming New Designers to the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace

The Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Avatar Apparel Designers

The Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Avatar Apparel Designers 
We are pleased to announce the acceptance of two new designers to the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace for Emerging Avatar Apparel Designers.  The two designers include Lumina Elvehjem and Jare Capalini.  They both have very different styles, and we invite you to come explore these new designers, and return to see how their work evolves over the coming months.

Designer statements and images of their work follows.

 Lumin Elvehjem
(invited into the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace on October 17, 2008)

Reflections of Gold Filigree Gown photographed by Callipygian Christensen

Luminous Designs: Reflections of Gold Filigree Gown photographed by Callipygian Christensen

 

 

Luminous Designs

Luminous Designs

Hi!  My name is Lumina Elvehjem, and I am the designer behind Luminous Designs. I was rezzed on June 15, 2006.   I had been an avatar for well over a year before I started making clothes and so have a bit of a unique take, even if I’m a bit new. I make what I’m inspired to, and so there’s a little bit of everything, but it’s the best. Quality is always a thing I go for, and i believe you can see that as soon as you get anything made by me. Often my designs are about options and being able to dress how you feel that day. They are fun and playful, even when they are formal and breathtaking.  And to me that is what fashion is about really.  It’s a form of communication. Being able to state how you feel or even how you wish to feel.  My designs help one do that.  Oh …and of course looking incredible. That’s always a big bonus.

Lumina's blosson gown, photographed by Callipygian Christensen

Luminous Designs: Blossom Gown shot by Callipygian Christensen, available in the Marketplace

Another view of the Blossom Gown, photographed by Callipygian Christensen

Luminous Designs: Another view of the Blossom Gown, photographed by Callipygian Christensen

Jare Capalini
(Invited into the Shengri La Vintage Marketplace on October 24, 2008)

AU V Design

AU V Design

My Rez date was March 2nd,2007.  My Fashion line is labeled “AU V” and the type of fashion I want for my label is Couture and Avant Gaurde. My vision is to create beauty that no one else has and harness something that people have only scraped the surface of, and dig deeper into it. My Inspiration for all my clothing is the seasons. To me my favorite image in the whole world is Japan in the winter. To see modern Tokyo a high fashion and hugely electronic city, and put a large blanket of snow on it, it’s gorgous. I hope my line shows people a type of look that they haven’t ever seen, and to bring them to a place more like a fantasy that they didn’t know the loved.

